Atmosphere

A couple of weeks back, I had a nightmare where I awoke to a world that was alien to me.  For some reason, when I looked out the window, I was surrounded by a giant Mt. Rushmore and a spinning psychedelic sky.  This morning, as I was riding the bike, I chanced a look at the sky, and the clouds and the sky seemed…alien, as if I’d never seen it before.  It was both amazing and terrifying in the same instant.  I felt so alone, as if I did not belong on this strange planet with the pale blue sky and high clouds, and smog that makes a yellow sun red.

Later, at lunch, I was sitting outside and spotted a tree in late bloom dancing in the breeze against the clear light blue sky, and I felt right back at home.

Leave a Reply

